I believe…

Standard

tree

I’m passionate about education. Here’s why:

I believe all kids have the right to be educated.
I believe all kids have the right to be held to high standards.
I believe all kids are capable of succeeding.
I believe disability is created by context.
I believe inclusion is an intentional action.
I believe anything less is exclusion.
I believe exclusion is created by ignorance.
I believe disability is a form of diversity.
I believe emotions affect academics.
I believe needs must be met first.
I believe everyone learns in a different way.
I believe engagement leads to understanding.
I believe all student can demonstrate knowledge.
I believe in choice.
I believe education is the key to our future.
I believe education can end poverty.
I believe I can help teachers understand.
I believe teachers want to change.
I believe schools can do better.
I believe in inclusive education.
I believe we can make a difference.

Teachers are charged with producing the next generation of productive citizens. ELL, special Ed, 504, “average” learner, “slow” learner, Gifted, THEY ARE ALL OURS! The words “productive citizen” include every child that comes into your life.

This isn’t easy. But there is a framework to help teachers navigate this shift in mindset. Universal Design for Learning helps you adapt your classroom and content to meet the needs of all learners. Afterall, all learners are a part of our society. Why wouldn’t you want to prepare them? If you are interested in more check out CAST and keep checking my blog. There’s more to come!

Leave a Reply

