Special Ed-The equivalent of acronym Hell!

Standard

screaming

There are so many things about Special Education that are tricky or hard to decipher. Laws that don’t always make sense, rules that only apply under certain circumstances and to make it worse, Special Educators often speak in their own language.

Have you ever heard one Special Ed teacher say to another, “I need to finish the FBA as part of the FIE. Then I can work on the BIP and PLAAFP. The student will qualify as LD and OHI. I’ll work on draft IEPs before the ARD”.

WHAT? It’s the equivalent of acronym hell! The link below will take you to a document that lists some of the most common acronyms and what they mean. I hope this helps you to have a better understanding of Special Ed and the crazy language we speak.

Special Ed acronyms

About karicalcote

I'm married to the love of my life and we have one son. I've worked in education as a teacher, behavior coach and diagnostician. I started this blog so I would have a place to share what I'm learning. Education is changing and we all have to work together and share information if we want to keep up.

3 responses »

  1. I drop a leave a response each time I like a post on a site or
    if I have something to valuable to contribute to the conversation.
    It is caused by the sincerness displayed in the post I read.
    And on this post Special Ed-The equivalent of acronym Hell!
    | More Coffee Please!. I was moved enough to post a comment
    😉 I do have some questions for you if you usually do not
    mind. Could it be simply me or do some of these remarks
    appear as if they are left by brain dead folks? 😛 And, if you are posting at additional sites, I’d like to keep up with anything fresh you have to post. Could you list all of all your communal pages like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

    • I appreciate all comments, so please leave one whenever you want. I think I got lucky in that most of the comments to my posts are relevant to the post and don’t seem to be from brain dead people. But that could be because most of what I post has to do with education. I do have a twitter account. You can access it on the right side of the blog. Thanks for reading and happy blogging!

  2. I continue to be so impressed with your post. I respect and admire all teachers and understand they have a difficult job. It is encouraging as a citizen that the public school system is acknowledging that social behavior has to be taught in school, we can just leave it up to over-worked, over-burdened single parents or too old to be raising children grandparents. It is a very fine line where a teacher/parent/guardian’s job starts and ends, but if we all keep in focus that we all need to be here for the best of each and every child, everyone will be much better off. Thanks again for all your work and for the work and dedication of all teachers.

Leave a Reply

